Supporting the Nation's Judicial System & the Public it Serves

Home > News > SJI Board Chairman Receives National Honors

SJI Board Chairman Receives National Honors

FY 2014 proved to be an eventful year for Arkansas Supreme Court Chief Justice James Hannah, who serves as the SJI Board Chairman. He became President of the Conference of Chief Justices (CCJ) and Chair of the National Center for State Courts (NCSC) Board, and was recently inducted into the Warren E. Burger Society. As CCJ President and NCSC Chair, Hannah will work with colleagues to identify and develop both judicial and practitioner responses to challenges facing the state court community. He will also represent both groups at national events throughout the 2014-15 year. Membership in the Warren E. Burger Society is granted to “volunteers who have demonstrated an exemplary commitment to improving the administration of justice through extraordinary contributions of service or support to the National Center for State Courts.” Hannah was presented with this honor in November, along with former SJI Board member Judge Sophia Hall. He joins fellow SJI Board Secretary, Senior Circuit Court Judge Gayle Nachtigal who was admitted in 2009.